Maha Govt Confers Raj Kapoor Awards On Nihalani, Shabana

Maha Govt Confers Raj Kapoor Awards On Nihalani, Shabana
Maharashtra Government has honoured noted film director and cinematographer Govind Nihalani and actress Shabana Azmi with the Raj Kapoor awards for excellence in cinema.

Chief Minister Prithviraj Chavan presented the prestigious Raj Kapoor lifetime achievement award for 2010-11 to Nihalani and Raj Kapoor special contribution award to Azmi, at a function here last night.

Earlier recipients of the state government's Raj Kapoor awards include actor Rajinikant, Aamir Khan, Ashutosh Gowarikar, Yash Chopra, Rekha, Manoj Kumar and Gulzar.

Noted film director Jabbar Patel was presented the V Shantaram lifetime achievement award for his contribution to Marathi cinema while producer Smita Talwalkar received the V Shantaram special contribution award.

Other awardees for 2010-11 include veteran Marathi stage artiste Sulabha Deshpande (Prabhakar Panshikar award) and Fayyaz (Balwant Pandurang and Annasaheb Kirloskar memorial award for her contribution to music).

Efforts would be made to hold the Marathi film festival abroad, Chavan said.

The 48th Marathi film awards presentation function was held in the backdrop of the majestic Gateway of India in south Mumbai.

Deputy Chief Minister Ajit Pawar also honoured the awardees. Prize money for the awards would be increased next year, he said.