National Awards: Paan Singh Tomar, Irrfan Khan win

Written by Gitanjali Roy   | March 18, 2013 15:34 IST (New Delhi)
60th National Film Awards

The 60th National Film Awards have been announced and Irrfan Khan has won Best Actor for his performance as athlete-turned-dacoit in Paan Singh Tomar


The 60th National Film Awards have been announced and Tigmanshu Dhulia's Paan Singh Tomar has bagged two of the biggest awards - Best Feature Film and Best Actor for Irrfan Khan's performance as the eponymous athlete-turned-dacoit. Irrfan shared the Best Actor award with Vikram Gokhale who won for Marathi film Anumati.(List of winners)

Marathi film Dhag also scored two awards - Best Actress for Usha Jadhav and Best Director for Shivaji Lotan Patil.

A surprise three wins were in store for Bollywood sleeper hit Vicky Donor with Dolly Ahluwalia and Annu Kapoor winning the Best Supporting Acting awards. Dolly Ahluwalia shared the Best Supporting Actress award with Kalpana for Malayalam film Thanichalla Njan. Vicky Donor also shared the award for Best Popular Film with Malayalam film Ustad Hotel.

Chittagong, directed by NASA scientist-turned-filmmaker Bedabrata Pain scored three awards. It shared the Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut Film of a Director with Malayalam movie 101 Chodiyangal. The song Bolo Na won Best Lyrics for Prasoon Joshi and Best Male Playback Singer for Shankar Mahadevan.

Actress Parineeti Chopra received a special mention for her performance in Ishaqzaade.

A special jury award was given to actor Nawazuddin Siddiqui for his work in Kahaani, Gangs Of Wasseypur, Dekh India Circus and Talaash. Bengali director Rituparno Ghosh also received a special award for his film Chitrangada.

Sujoy Ghosh won Best Original Screenplay for Kahaani, starring Vidya Balan. Kahaani also won Best Editing. OMG, starring Akshay Kumar, won Best Adapted Screenplay.

Other winners include Nitin Kakkar's Filmistan which has won Best Hindi Film and S S Rajamouli's Eega which has won Best Telugu Film.

Malayalam film Thanichalla Njan won the Nargis Dutt Award for National Integration.

Dekh Indian Circus won Best Children's Film and Delhi Safari won Best Animated Film.

Pt Birju Maharaj won Best Choreography for Vishwaroopam, which also won Best Production Design.

The National Film Awards jury was led this year by filmmaker Basu Chatterjee.