Akshay Kumar Will Get His National Award Today, 'Can't Express His Feelings'

The 64th National Film Awards ceremony will be held in New Delhi on Wednesday, May 3. President Pranab Mukherjee will give away the awards to the winners at Rashtrapati Bhavan. Akshay Kumar won his first National Award for Rustom

  | May 03, 2017 12:30 IST (New Delhi)
Akshay Kumar

Akshay Kumar in Rustom


  • Sonam Kapoor has received a special mention for Neerja
  • Surabhi Lakshmi has been named the best actress for Minnaminungu
  • Neerja has won the Best Hindi film award
The 64th National Film Awards ceremony will be held in New Delhi on Wednesday, May 3. The awards had been announced on April 7 this year. Ahead of the ceremony, actor Akshay Kumar, who has won his first National Award for Rustom, posted a video on Twitter, where he shares his thoughts about getting the award and also advises youngsters to work on their strength and excel in whatever they do. "Like there's no lock made without a key, no problem comes without solutions. Watch & do think, sharing with you'll some thoughts, #DirectDilSe," Akshay, 49, captioned his post. The actor played a Naval Officer Rustom Pavri in Rustom, a film based on the 1959 Nanavati case.
Akshay begins with, "I will get my first National Award today. I can't express my feelings." He also spoke about how his parents helped him achieve his goals despite his academic failures.
Watch the full video here:
President Pranab Mukherjee will give away the awards to the winners at Rashtrapati Bhavan today.
Surabhi Lakshmi has been named the best actress for her role in Malayalam film Minnaminungu. Marathi film Kasav won Best Feature Film award. Superstar Amitabh Bachchan's Pink won Best Film On Social Issues. Actress Sonam Kapoor received a Special Mention for portraying airhostess Neerja Bhanot in Ram Madhvani's Neerja. Also, the movie has won Best Hindi Film award.
Malayalam star Mohanlal won the Special Jury award at the National Film Award for his performances in Janatha Garage, Pulimurugan and Munthirivallikal Thalirkkumbol. Ventilator, Priyanka Chopra's first Marathi film as a producer has won three National Awards.
Dangal actress Zaira Wasim, who played the younger version of wrestler Geeta Phogat in Aamir Khan's film has been named the winner in Best Supporting Actress category.
64th National Film Awards: Here's the complete list of winners.
Best Feature Film:Kasav (Marathi)
Best Debut Film of A Director:Khalifa (Bengali)
Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment: Sathamanam Bhavati (Telugu)
Best Children's Film:Dhanak (Hindi)
Best Direction: Rajesh Mapuskar for Ventilator
Best Actor: Akshay Kumar for Rustom
Best Actress: Surabhi Lakshmi for Minnaminunge
Best Supporting Actor: Manoj Joshi forDashkriya
Best Supporting Actress: Zaira Wasim for Dangal
Best Child Artist: Manohara for Railway Children
Best Male Playback Singer: Sundara Iyer for Joker
Best Female Playback Singer: Emaan Chakraborty for Praktan
Best Cinematography: Tirru
Best Screenplay (Original): Syam Pushkaran for Maheshinte Prathikaaram
Best Screenplay (Adapted): Sanjay Krishnaji Patel for Dashakriya
Best Film on Other Social Issues:Pink
Best Film on Environment/Conservation/Preservation:The Tiger Who Crossed The Line
Best Editing: Rameshwar S. Bhagat for Ventilator
Best Art Direction:24
Best Costume Design: Sachin
Best Music Direction (Songs): Bapu Padmanabha/Bapu Flute Allama
Best Lyrics: Vairamuthu for Dharma Durai song Vantha Entha Pakkam
Best Special Effects:Shivaay
Best Bengali Film:Bisarjan
Best Gujarati Film:Wrong Side Raju
Best Hindi Film:Neerja
Best Kannada Film:Reservation
Best Malayalam Film:Maheshinte Prathikaaram
Best Marathi Film:Dashakriya
Best Tamil Film:Joker
Best Telugu Film:Pelli Choopulu
The 64th National Awards jury is headed by filmmaker Priyadarshan.
Information and Broadcasting Minister M Venkaiah Naidu and Former Indian Army officer and Union Minister of State for Information and Broadcasting Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore will also be present at the 64th National Awards ceremony.

Listen to the latest songs, only on